Happy New Year!

fireworks-photography-new-years-2013-chicquero-28

Look how far we’ve come, baby, now.

Welcome, 2016! It’s nothing short of a miracle that I’ve survived this long. Seriously. When you stop and think all the ridiculous things that you did as a kid, don’t you just shake your head and want to spit, amazed you’re still breathing? Well, hopefully you won’t spit at 2016 as it walks in the door, especially as AIA welcomes the new year!

One of my favorite sonnets by Edna St. Vincent Millay

One of my favorite sonnets by Edna St. Vincent Millay

As the saying usually goes: a new year, a new you. I’m super excited for the refocusing Apollonia in August will take this year. Β As always, there will always be honest (and sometimes brutal) reviews of books and movies, but I hope to take more of an educational route this year, as well as working on a social media platform, dare I say it.

One of my 2016 challenges- Independent People by Halldor Laxness

One of my 2016 challenges- Independent People by Halldor Laxness

In addition to highlighting some really incredible poems and brief excerpts from novels throughout the week, I plan on reviewing a few really important literary elements you might have learned years ago but have since forgotten as your brain is now crammed with tons of adulting stuff. I think it can be sometimes helpful and fun to remember what you know you once knew (I hope). A little bit of a walk down those awkward middle school years!

Relaxing with a little Dunkin Donuts and Oblomov. A clear combination

Relaxing with a little Dunkin Donuts and Oblomov. A clear combination

I have had such a fun time this year getting AIA off the ground, and I thank you so much for your patience with me. I wish you nothing but the best for 2016, and here’s to hoping your find the literary love of your life this year.

Best,

Coco

4 thoughts on “Happy New Year!

Leave a Reply

