The TBR Jar

image1 (5)

Well, folks, it’s come to this…

In my never-ending quest to work on reading the enormous amount of books I have collected over the years that are simply sitting there, collecting dust on my bookshelf, I did what any good woman in 2016 would do; I went to Pinterest for ideas. And, as is often the case, I found an enormous amount of ideas for not only how to increase my reading production but how to improve nearly every aspect of my life astronomically.

I mean, if you have approximately 28 hours in a day and enjoy DIYing. Neither of which category I belong to. But I did see an adorable idea that may or may not work for me. Experimentation is half the fun!

I have created my very own To Be Read jar with an approximate count of 30 books from my personal library that need to be read. The idea is that I will sh-sh-shake up the jar and choose at random the next book I will read. And I have to read THAT book. None of this putting it back in the jar and hoping I don’t pick it again for a while. I don’t know if you share a similar problem, but I am an excellent aversion reader. I might be interested in a particular book for a moment, but after some time, the interest begins to fade. Yet I have already bought the book! And so it sits, leading me back to Pinterest, which only leads me back to feeling super bad about how I’m not creating more things in my life.

The first book I chose from the TBR Jar is actually a pretty humorous book; Christopher Moore’s Practical Demonkeeping (HarperCollins reprint, originally published by St. Martin’s Press in 1992). I’m not always a fan of Moore’s writing, but I remember reading Practical Demonkeeping when I was in college, and it was a fun break from murdering myself by Proust.

image2 (3)

The first book chosen from the TBR Jar!

Review soon to come, along with my review of Stuart Rojstaczer’s The Mathematician’s Shiva, which is taking me eons longer than I had ever intended.

Signature

Leave a Reply

