In Which I Read Very, Very Slowly

20160221_215300037_iOS

My passion for reading is a Catch-22.

For someone who adores reading and all things related to books, I am one of the slowest readers you will ever meet.

I have an enormous bookshelf full of books just waiting to be read, and I often adopt stray books in need of a good home. I try to read a few minutes before bed every night or for an afternoon on my day off.

But I don’t read nearly as many books as one would think someone who started a book blog would read. I still probably read more than the average Joe, but my reading quota is certainly not where I would like it.

Here come the excuses. This is partially because I am easily distracted. I think of the thousand other things I should be doing instead of sitting down to read, and then the guilt begins to seep in. I also need nothing short of silence in order to focus enough to read, something that can be difficult to find when living in a house with 4 other people. If it is not silent, my mind focuses elsewhere. Maybe I should be tested for ADHD. But that sounds like a lot of work, and I’ve already lost interest in it.

20160221_215228637_iOS

My bookshelf. In such glorious disarray.

It is also partially due to (and here comes the big excuse) I’m exhausted at the end of the day and don’t have the mental energy to focus on the story in front of me. You know, not unlike everyone else in the world who then finish an entire library.

Screenshot from a recent Skype conversation, showing off my latest acquisition to the library, one that will probably be picked up 10 years from now. History of Polish Literature.

Screenshot from a recent Skype conversation, showing off my latest acquisition to the library, one that will probably be picked up 10 years from now. History of Polish Literature.

So, fellow book enthusiasts, what strategies work for you? How do you optimize your schedule for reading? What can a poor girl to get her reading back on track?

Signature

6 thoughts on “In Which I Read Very, Very Slowly

  1. I know what you mean about being too tired at the end of the day to read. What sometimes works for me is finding a few minutes in the morning (breakfast?) to start the first few pages of a book. When I know a little bit about what I’m getting into, my interest level rises and I look forward to reading more later.

    Liked by 1 person

  2. I think i am that kind too. I try to read 30 minutes each day (and i think it’s not enough). I have almost 40 books in reserve (ouch!!). I like reading early in the morning before the work. And you?

    Like

Leave a Reply

